New resident-led committee works to improve accessibility

New resident-led committee works to improve accessibility

July 18, 2013

A new resident-led committee will advocate for the needs of residents living with physical disabilities and identify how to improve accessibility at Toronto Community Housing.

The Responsible Personal Accessibility in Toronto Housing (R-PATH) committee was established in May 2013. It provides recommendations to Toronto Community Housing management on issues that affect residents with physical disabilities from carrying out their daily activities.

The R-PATH committee works with Toronto Community Housing to help remove housing design barriers in all of its communities. The committee's goal is to improve the quality of life of residents with physical disabilities and to support Toronto Community Housing in being a leader in accessible housing.

There will be up to 12 members on the R-Path committee who represent the needs and interests of residents with all types of physical disabilities including people who use wheelchairs, walkers, visual or hearing impaired devices, and people who are living with a child or spouse who has mobility challenges.

Every two months, members of the committee meet at a pre-determined location to discuss accessibility issues faced by residents across the city. On the in between months the committee will be having Community Resident Engagement Accessibility Meetings (C.R.E.A.M.) in all of the Toronto Community Housing's communities to speak to and hear the residents voices on issues of accessibility. Watch for the notices for the meeting in your area.

R-PATH is open to residents who might be interested in volunteering their time, skills and leadership to support the committee's work. Application for new members is open for interested volunteers.

For information on the activities of the committee and how you can volunteer, contact

2013 - 2015 Committee Members

Cathy Birch (Chairperson)

Anthony Smith�

Arfan Shahriyar

Hassan Sesay�

Jane Donohue�

Joe Knapper

Lene Andersen �

Michael Smith